top of page


Monroe Township Fire & EMS is staffed 24 hours a day & 7 days a week. The Department is led by Chief Steve Downey and Assistant Chief Greg Lang.  

The department operates a Three platoon system. Each shift working 24 hours on and 48 hours off assures around the clock coverage. 

Lieutenant Doug Jones leads unit 1 
Lieutenant Jeff Houchin leads unit 2
Lieutenant Nate Ritchey leads unit 3.

Monroe Township encompasses 31 square miles stretching from Ohio state route 125 in the north to US 52 and the Ohio River on the South. The Birthplace of General and President US Grant. 

The department operates out of two Fire-EMS stations. 
Station 32 covers the northern district of the township and is the headquarters station. The station is located on State Route 222 right next to the Township Hall. The Fire Chief and Assistant Chief's office are located here. The station operates with a LT and 3 Firefighter/EMT, Firefighter/Medic's 24/7 365 days a year.
Station 33 is located on Laurel Lindale Rd and covers the South District of the township. This station operates with 2 Firefighter/EMT, Firefighter/Medic's 24 hours a day. 
Dr. Joseph Khan operates as the department's Medical Director. Dr. Khan is very active in training and responding to emergency scenes. 

Chaplin Richard Wallbillig is the department Chaplin
Our Apparatus consists of:
(2) front line Engines
(2) Front Line Paramedic Ambulances
(2) Chief Command Vehicle's 
(1) Water Tender/Engine 
(1) Brush vehicles
(1) Reserve Engine
(1) Reserve Ambulance
(1)  District Command vehicle
(1) support truck


We respond to over 1870 Calls a year.

bottom of page